Secondary School is a time of rapid intellectual, emotional and physical growth. During this period, your child will become increasingly reflective about life, relationships and school as they begin to make significant decisions about future study and career pathways.

In Middle School, which includes students in the five year groups from Grade 6 to Grade 10, your child’s literacy and numeric skills will becoming more sophisticated as they are introduced to important disciplines, ideas and learning styles.

The integrated approach to learning introduced in the Junior School will continue, particularly in the study of English and the humanities (history, geography and economics). In addition, students will build on their knowledge and skills in communication, effective group work and creative thinking.

From Years 6-10 The Australian Curriculum (Victorian) is organised around three general categories with different subjects and areas of learning in each category:

Discipline-based Learning:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • The Humanities (Economics, Geography, History)
  • Languages other than English
  • The Arts

Interdisciplinary Learning:

  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Thinking Processes

Physical, Personal and Social Learning:

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Learning
  • Civics and Citizenship

All students undertake the study of mathematics, science, and languages. Students develop healthy minds and bodies through health and physical education studies. The curriculum at this level provides opportunities for self-expression and personal development. Students are supported in developing strong interpersonal skills, self-awareness and confidence and have the opportunity to take on leadership roles in the school.